next up previous contents
Next: Criticizing an Entity Up: Title Previous: Summary

Hierarchy of Conflicts

  This chapter presents a hierarchical classification of SiFA conflicts. Such a classification is comparable to the one described in [Klein & Lu 90], and shown in figure 2.1, in terms of its organization.

The conflict hierarchy for SiFAs is shown in figure 5.1. The nodes represent conflict types. This is an is-a hierarchy, where each node is a specialization of its parent node and therefore inherits all of its properties. The root node, labeled conflict, encompasses all conflict types. Klein's conflict hierarchy has this property as well. The main distinction between the two are that the SiFA hierarchy does not have any domain dependent nodes although its leaf nodes are very well defined conflicts.

It is possible to change the order of the criteria used at each level to specialize the conflicts. For example the criteria used to specialize them in the second and third levels of the right hand side of the hierarchy may be switched. This would create a different hierarchy than the one described here. The version presented here, however, does the best job of grouping common aspects of conflicts into a single more general node. That is, if we used another hierarchy, there would be some nodes that represent the same group of conflicts in more than one place in the hierarchy.

The following sections describe the hierarchy of conflicts in detail.

Figure 5.1: The SiFA conflict hierarchy

Ilan Berker
Thu Apr 27 16:25:38 EDT 1995